I've been mad about books and have been writing and making art for as long as I can remember. When I was a kid, you'd likely find me up a tree, or with my face in a book, or drawing (maybe all at once).

I grew up in Australia, although I also moved to Missouri, USA for three years when I was ten. When I finished university (where I studied archaeology!), I lived in Japan then moved to Wyoming to work at NOLS. I now live near the Rhode Island coast with my family and a boxer named Phoebe.

When I'm not writing, illustrating, or helping other people make books, you'll find me out in my kayak, hiking through the woods, or on the beach, camera always in hand.

Published Books:

Author:

Illustrator:

When I was a kid, I also really liked playing dress-ups, although I wanted to be an archaeologist or artist, not a nurse. 

Contact: 

If you'd like to know more, please email me. 

Or click to visit:

 

Why am I known as Wordy Bird?

Because I work with words and really like birds.  

5 things you might not know about me: 

  1. I lived outdoors in the Rocky Mountain wilderness for three months, beginning in winter. (I know how to build an igloo!)
  2. I'm a vegetarian, but I've eaten camel, crocodile, emu, snake, and lerp, which is a kind of insect cocoon. (And once was enough.)
  3. I once had hiccups for three weeks straight. (Maybe it was the lerp that did it?) 
  4. I turn off the lights when I leave a room, and I take my reusable bags, a water bottle, and reusable drink cup wherever I go. (Because I care about our planet.)
  5. Some friends call me "the human compass" because I usually know which direction I'm facing, even when its cloudy or dark.